Skip to main content

About Active Adults Realty

Reviews and Testimonials

Read what others are saying about Active Adults Realty and our team of Real Estate Agents. Meet the Team.

We had an initial contact with Active Adults Realty just a few days ago. As a sales professional myself, and a former owner of real estate companies, my initial impression was very favorable. The key to success in sales is the ability to listen, and Active Adults Realty did that well. We are transitioning back to the East Coast, where my wife and I both grew up, after 40 years in the West. It is very important to find the best home and area, and feel confident that we will find it with Active Adults Realty.

- Ken Egan

Francine and her co worker were a joy to work with from the very beginning. Every question and responsibility were handled great. I highly recommend them to anyone!

- Robert P Jones

Active Adults Realty Is as outstanding team as their many glowing reviews attest. Active Adults Realty really took the time to understand our needs and concerns. We really appreciated their professionalism, ready availability, and willingness to go the extra step to investigate potential issues. Active Adults Realty’s extensive knowledge of the various communities enabled us to quickly zero in on the perfect home for us.

- Ronni and Charlie

I met Active Adults Realty thru a mutual client, a first time home buyer. Active Adults Realty, was exceptional at assisting and guiding the customer thru the entire process. As Loan officer, they were very helpful in making this nervous first time home buyer's transaction go smoothly and close on time as expected. Thank You Active Adults Realty! I look forward to working with you and more clients!

- Craig Snyder RMS Mortgage

I can't speak highly enough about Active Adults Realty, especially my realtor, Ingrid Kollist, and her assistant, Judy Robinson. This was my first out-of-state move, and they were recommended by a friend who had also recently moved to Delaware. Ingrid and Judy went above and beyond to ensure that the process went as smoothly and easily as possible for me. No matter what questions or worries I had, they responded quickly and always managed to put me at ease. While house hunting, Ingrid seemed to understand what I really wanted even before I did and directed me to the perfect house in the perfect location and was there for me from beginning to end. I honestly can't imagine having gone through this process without them!

- Barb Sweeney

Flawless.

- Colleen

Active Adults Realty managed our most recent (sale) with the same high level of professionalism and effectiveness as they have our previous transactions. That is what we expected and why we return to Kathy, Bill and their team for our real estate needs.

- parnie Verenis

My wife & I had the pleasure of meeting Active Adults Realty in March 2019...when I first met The agent I felt like we were old friends. He is very personable, patient, and honest. He not only showed us some homes, but he actually spent several hours with us, showed us the lay of the land, the beaches, communities...basically gave us a 'lil taste of how it would be. Then we went to some of the communities and homes being built and spoke to some of the contacts there and went over some of the process and what to expect, more or less. We all agreed that all this would not happen over night, but in fact is a process in which he will be there all the way through. My wife & I both agree, we will be retiring to DE, and we look forward to working with Active Adults Realty. My only problem is patience. Thank you Active Adults Realtor, Audrey Hammond . I tip my hat to you guys!

- Joe /Theresa

Active Adults Realty is an amazing realtor/new friend. They really listened to what we wanted to purchase. So one day out with Active Adults Realty we not only purchased our forever home we also made a friend. I would recommend Active Adults Realty to anyone looking for a home

- Kathy & Gino Natale

The good news is that I can join my husband in retirement in one year. The great news is that we want to live in the retirement friendly state of Delaware. But, the best news of all is that we had the opportunity to go through this process with realtor extraordinaire, Active Adults Realty. Last week we knew little more than that Delaware was a tax friendly state with quite a few beautiful beaches. During our weekend with Active Adults Realty, they gave us insight into what our Delaware lifestyle could be. They lulled us into friendly conversations and really paid attention to our wants and needs. Finally, they introduced us to a few communities, all of which met our requirements and desires. During our long drive home, after visiting with Active Adults Realty for only one weekend, we realized they had shown us the home and community that checked all of our boxes! We are looking forward to our life in our new Delaware home. Thanks, Active Adults Realty, for all your help.

- Skip & Diane from New Jersey

We met with Active Adults Realty at our hotel, and from the moment we bumped elbows (during Covid) we knew we were on the right track. Active Adults Realty knowledge and familiarity with the entire coastal area was immediately apparent. They listened to us and asked the questions that gave them a sense of what we were looking for. There was never any pressure, nor did they take us out of our price range. They took us to the different areas make up the coastal landscape. We ended our day together finding an area that we would of never of considered at the beginning of day. Looking for a top agent who will look out for you, plus a nice guy? Call Active Adults Realty

- Diane and Bob

Worked with Active Adults Realty one afternoon with two other women. We instantly connected and had a lot of laughs. They showed us many properties in only one afternoon. I love the homes, the “lifestyle”, the amenities. Pretty much everything about Lower, Slower Delaware is very appealing to me in my soon to be retirement years. Thanx, Active Adults Realty. I will be in touch.

- Robin Lueddeke

Navigating the local communities in Delaware felt somewhat daunting but we can’t say enough about our experience working with Active Adults Realty. Active Adults Realty’s knowledge of the local market, their patience and candidness were all much appreciated. Most importantly was Active Adults Realty’s ability to listen and really understand our goals. It was a pleasure to work with them.

- Bob Delin

My husband and I just got back from a whirlwind Memorial Day Weekend with Active Adults Realty. From the moment we met Active Adults Realty we appreciated their calm, supportive manner. Being clients from upstate NY and never having been to Delaware, other than to drive through on the way to Florida, they spent the good part of a whole day showing us the entire coastline, sharing much of the history of the area. We never felt pressured, and felt that they were very genuine in just helping us to get acquainted with the area. When asked questions they did not know they admitted what they didn’t know but got back to us promptly with answers. Long story short we bought a Villa 2 days later and couldn’t be more thrilled! We highly recommend Active Adults Realty if you want honesty, understanding, humor and dependability during an often very stressful process. Thank you Active Adults Realty!!

- Dominick and Susan Hendrickson

We met with an agent last week for an introduction to central Delaware and the communities it has to offer. He gave us an awesome overview of housing at multiple price points, listened to our comments and was able to answer all questions. Thank you, you gave us a lot to think about!

- Mary L

Thanks to Active Adults Realty my wife and I have found our dream home. Active Adults Realty listened and understood what was important to us. They provided expert advice and recommendations which made us feel comfortable. Active Adults Realty's deep knowledge of coastal Delaware and pleasant demeanor ensured a wonderful customer experience. I would highly recommend Active Adults Realty.

- Mike and Denise Maitre

Thank you again for the best service team. You guys are the best! Always professional, genuine and very helpful. Our last sale went off without a hitch. Much appreciated Bill and team!

- Ken and Lisa

We happened upon Active Adults Realty after house-hunting on-line in the southeastern Delaware region and feel like we struck gold! Not only did Active Adults Realty find our dream home, he gave us an all-day tour of the area and even found us a furnished rental in the same community our house is being built in. Active Adults Realty is truly genuine and a man of their word which is rare in today’s world!

- Paul and Rosemary Curtin

My husband and I are looking for a retirement home in Delaware and we were fortunate to get connected with Active Adults Realty. Active Adults Realty's upbeat personalities and knowledge of the area made house hunting stress free. Active Adults Realty listened to our "wish list" and took us to many communities that fit the criteria. They also went out of their way to give us a tour of the area including restaurants, shopping, boardwalks, and boat docks. We know Active Adults Realty has our best interest in mind and will walk us through the steps in the process. Hello Delaware- here we come!

- Doug and Robin Fillman

Active Adults Realty was highly recommended to us in New York. We drove to Milford, DE and called Active Adults Realty. They showed us around Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, Dewey Beach and Bethany while answering all our questions and gave us an orientation of available housing. We highly recommend Active Adults Realty. They met our expectations and more!

- Robert and Carol Trepp

We immediately felt at ease with Active Adults Realty from our first phone call. They intently listened and understood us. His follow up email was informative, prompt, and concise. Active Adults Realty knew we were in the initial stages of our home search and he wanted to “get to know us.” Amazing how within 1 hour after we first met, they knew what our preferences were on homes and areas. Each successive home showing increased my wife’s “Wows” but ALL close to our desired price point. No question we recommend Active Adults Realty as their professionalism, attention to detail, and personality added to the pleasant experience of searching for a new home. They valued our time and heard our wishes the FIRST time. Thank you!

- Pete & Ruth Hessert

Active Adults Realty was helpful from the beginning of our search. Years before our actual retirement Active Adults Realty patiently showed us around so we could evaluate what would work for us. Over time they updated us with new options and we continued to visit and explore so that when we were really ready the transition went very smoothly.

- Jayne Ace-Bosgra

Can't thank Bill Bell enough for selling our last home in a 55+ community in Dover. His perseverance and commitment to moving this home was invaluable. Would highly recommend him.

- Richard

"More than a year ago I decided to explore buying into an Active Adult community. Fortunately I discovered a highly qualified realtor in Donna Beck. She and her husband, John, took me on a tour of many communities in the area. Not only did they help me understand the features of each community, they also helped me to fully understand the potential of this new (to me) life style.
Since the community I chose was still under construction, I soon learned I was in for a very long process (14 months in my case). Donna and John were there for me throughout that journey. From finding an interior design company to a home inspector and everything in between, they were always there with helpful suggestions. Finding an active adult community that’s right for you can be stressful. But with the right realtor helping you, you can do it with confidence. Donna and John are the right people to help you get there. I couldn’t have asked for anything else." -Joe Clarke

- Joe Clarke

My husband and I got in touch with Active Adults Realty because we were interested in retiring on the Delaware Coast. Even though we are not planning to buy a home for at least another year, Kathy Sperl-Bell welcomed us and spent an afternoon talking with us about retiring to the Delaware Coast. The next day, they took us on a tour of the Bethany area, and showed us several communities. We learned so much, and feel much more comfortable making a big decision like this. We now look forward to retiring to the Bethany area, living by the sea, and being closer to our children in Virginia and Southern New Jersey. We highly recommend working with Kathy and Active Adults Realty, and we are looking forward to finding our retirement home with them.

- Lynn and Tom Corrigan

Been through several real estate transactions over the years. Both buying and selling. This one in Delaware was different in a few ways. Overall I would say that Active Adults Realty was very patient with us, and did their best to accommodate our schedules and requests. Once the hunt was finally over, the team put together a good efficient closing meeting.

- Bill Hartenstine

This was our third time down to Delaware trying to make a decision on moving to the area. I spoke to Active Adults Realty and arranged a meeting. We immediately formed a bond. Active Adults Realty is well informed about Delaware communities. They showed us places that might fit our needs and wants. Active Adults Realty also directed us to a few communities to research at our leisure. Active Adults Realty spent a few hours with us and drove us around the area pointing out good restaurants, stores and more. They then arranged for us to see some homes the next day. After meeting with Active Adults Realty we have more of a clear direction of where we want to be and what we would like in a home. Thank you so much Active Adults Realty for spending time with us.

- Bonnie and Tim from New York

Active Adults Realty is unbelievably great people and as a professional. They are honest and extremely knowledgeable. They found us exactly what we were looking for and put us ahead of his interests. They even worked on our behalf while on vacation. It will be hard to find another team with their qualities.

- Jim & Yvette Meunier

Active Adults Realty was great. They gave us a tour of the Delaware coastal towns and showed us properties we would be interested in. They were very knowledgeable of the area and really understood what we were looking for. Their tour was very thorough and we really got a wonderful look at the area. Thank you, Active Adults Realty!

- Leslie and Garry Montalbano

Active Adults Realty, on very short notice, took us on a thorough tour to get us acclimated to the DE beaches/towns. They clearly love what they do and is a wealth of information. As this was just an exploratory trip for us, we did not commit to purchasing at this time. We did, however, feel much better about moving forward when the time comes. Active Adults Realty is a tremendous resource to have on your search.

- Anne Scheurer

Active Adults Realty is phenomenal! When I spoke to Active Adults Realty on the phone from my home in SC they asked me what I knew about DE especially Coastal DE I told them that we have never been to DE. They picked us up at our hotel and drove us around the area all day. We looked at several communities and model homes. Active Adults Realty took us to all of the beaches and explained the different “feel” of each area. They recommended restaurants and sights to see. We could not have asked for a more knowledgeable team to guide us on this journey. I think we have found our home! Thank You Active Adults Realty!

- Denise and Ron Kmet

There are literally 100,s of new developments in Delaware. Without an experienced agent working with you, you will end up going in circles and wasting time. I recommend Active Adults Realty, they know Delaware.

- Bill Puttre

Active Adults Realty is the best. They were not obtrusive, instead they listened to what we were looking for, showed us the options that checked most of our boxes, and allowed us to investigate on our own. They made the process easy by acting like a guide with our interests in mind, not like a salesman who would never be seen again. A Professional salesman's Pro. Thank you!!!

- Donald Swingle

Active Adults Realty is the best of the best. Always gives you 100%. They take their time and listens to their clients. Active Adults Realty does well by me; I had gotten two homes with them and couldn't be happier with Active Adults Realty

- Ruth Klemm

I met Active Adults Realty when I started my search for a retirement community in Delaware about a month ago. I told them my budget, time frame to buy which is about 2 years out, and made arrangements to meet for a day for our 1st visit. Active Adults Realty spent the day showing us all aspects of the area as we weren't sure of the area and which community would be the best target to meet our needs. Active Adults Realty listened more than talked, and got us to an area we can see ourselves living in. If you want a Guide who knows the area, the little subcultures of each and need a great advisor call the expert, call Active Adults Realty.

- Richard Levine

During our relocation process we had the good fortune to come across Active Adults Realty. As Active Adults Realty's had our true interests at heart the whole time. Active Adults Realty took the time to listen and get to know our unique situation. They toured us around to all of the potential towns and quickly picked up on what we were comfortable with and our desires. Active Adults Realty’s easy demeanor, combined with vast knowledge and their ability to be forthright and honest with us made our process easier and quicker than we ever thought. We highly recommend working with Active Adults Realty as a professional and will absolutely pass their name to any friends!

- Wayne M

When my adult siblings and I decided we wanted to spend more time with our father, we knew he needed to move to a bigger home that we could all get to easily. My father wanted to be in an area that was senior-friendly and low maintenance. My siblings and I wanted him to be in an area that was packed with amenities, nature activities and shopping so that each time we visited our father, would be full of fun family time. Active Adults Realty helped us find exactly that. They were patient, communicative and very knowledgeable. They listened closely to our requirements and was able to find new construction homes and resales that fit the bill. They helped us weigh the pros/cons of the different homes and we are now very excited as we wait for the new home to be built! Thanks, Active Adults Realty

- Alisha & April Armstrong

Thank you! I'm happy that this worked out for everyone. My mother wanted a family to move in, because she couldn't see it any other way. And a nice new family will be living at the farm my parents lived for over 40 years. We wish the new owners a wonderful life, raising a family, gathering with friends and enjoying the peaceful life, at the farm.

- Margaret Durnan & Colleen Martucci

I recently met with Active Adults Realty to look at properties in Delaware located near the coast. Active Adults Realty was professional, knowledgeable, understood my needs/interests and is an excellent listener. I have moved frequently both domestically and overseas so I have bought and sold many properties. Active Adults Realty is the most competent team with whom I've dealt. They are the consummate professional with an extremely pleasant personality. I would recommend them to anyone in search of a Delaware property. They just get it and is not hard sell. Based on their help and support I also recently purchased a property. They offered to remain involved and continue to help in any way they can. Doesn't get any better than that! Thank you Active Adults Realty in Delaware.

- Judy B.

Excellent communication

- Dalrymple

After renting in the Bethany area for 40 years, we began a search by looking at the many new home builder models in the Ocean View, Millville area. We chose Active Adults Realty because they have a special interest in their Baby Boomer Clients helping them through the search for a home, community, and location that meets each client's needs. The agency offers insight for relocation, and information needed to make that move. We planned a weekend to review the builders and model homes we had an interest in. The next day we met with Active Adults Realty to see some available resales. Active Adults Realty was patient, getting to know us while having conversations about what we were looking for. Active Adults Realty spent the day driving us around the communities sharing their knowledge of each. By the end of the day we had found a place both my husband and I said "this is the place". Active Adults Realty was with us and the Sales Representative for a new build working through the details to work up a price and negotiate for the home we liked. Active Adults Realty are great people, who has been available by email or phone to answer any questions we may have. Working with us through the buying process to closing, Active Adults Realty's wealth of knowledge has proved to be beneficial. Since we live about 3 hours from the area of interest having Active Adults Realty as an advocate has been and will be an advantage as we walk through this process.

- Irene and Joe W. from Maryland

Active Adults Realty spent several months patiently assisting us with finding our forever home. We had never bought a new home before and just sold our home of 24 years. Coming from New Jersey we were not familiar at all with Delaware real estate. On our first meeting with Active Adults Realty, they spent the day driving us around to different communities to get an idea of what we needed in a home. Their process helped us determine the area, resale or new home, type of community and amenities. No matter how much we shifted our search, Active Adults Realty was always patient with us and always responded quickly. They're honest, knowledgeable and cares very much about their clients finding the right home. Active Adults Realty were the right choice and we are very grateful.

- Eric Seaverns & Michelle Troupe

It’s been a long enjoyable journey so far and the new home selection process continues. Selling two homes and in search of one! Everything (100%) is an amazing experience. One incredible journey for over a year led by our expert guide, Active Adults Realty. We laugh about how our focus changed and then became clear with their guidance and patience. We redirected our areas...Bethany to Lewes, Active Adults Realty understood. We changed from smaller to bigger, Active Adults Realty understood. Another change from already built to build new, all is good with Active Adults Realty. Active Adults Realty held our hands when needed and then gave us room to talk alone when necessary. Direction without pushing. Again, guidance, advice, and help. Sounding board without opinion. Our choices were what mattered. Available to answer questions over the phone, by text, and by email. -they are our advocate and has our back every step of the way. This is so much more than a “job” to Active Adults Realty, it’s a personal calling.

- Peter & Ruth Hessert

If you're considering real estate in the Delaware area, Active Adults Realty are THE PEOPLE to talk with. Active Adults Realty is personable and honest. You'll feel like you're talking to an old friend. They have a wealth of information about all aspects of buying and living in Delaware, and they're able to quickly hone in on what is important to you. They spent 4 hours of their time on a Saturday, in bad weather, just to help us gather information about Delaware real estate. They took us around the area, to a variety of communities, where they knew people who worked and lived there, and had great working relationships with them. They were a pleasure to spend time with, and at the same time, it was the most valuable, informative, and well spent time we've EVER had with a real estate professional. I cannot recommend them enough. I would send my family, friends, and anyone I care about straight to Active Adults Realty. They're the real deal!!!!

- Jen V. T.

We'd like to give a shout out and a gracious thank you to Active Adults Realty, who took their valuable time out of their busy Saturday to take us on their three (3) hour tour (and no worries, we did not end up shipwrecked on Fenwick Island). My prior Delaware experience featured Route 13 N-S to get to Salisbury as well as the 18 mile trek from the Jersey Turnpike into Maryland. So, we readily admit we were naive considering we thought Delaware to be a large Soy field with beaches, expecting them to be honky-tonkish ($3.00 towels - 2 T-Shirts for $5 bucks..."Popko went to Rehobeth and All I got was this stinkin' T-Shirt"). Well, we were pleasantly surprised and downright wrong. Google "Broadway at the Beach" in Myrtle Beach; but stretch the shops out in a horseshoe layout...and the boardwalk...Wow. Active Adults Realty was informative and picked up from our conversations a quick understanding of our wants and needs as to a place to retire. Unexpectedly, we were never pressured to do anything other than sit back, relax, and take in the beautiful Southern Delaware scenery. If you are considering Delaware as a next place to live, call Active Adults Realty. Take their three (3) hour tour. Highly recommended!

- Scott Nirenberg / Carol Nirenberg

We have been wanting to retire to Delaware for over 2 years, but it wasn't until we met Active Adults Realty, that it became a likelihood. We live out of state, but Active Adults Realty had been recommended by a family member who lives in Maryland, and knew of their excellent reputation through business contacts.They reached out to us the same day she gave them our information and they have been in contact with us consistently ever since.

What impressed us initially was how well they listened to our needs and found homes for us to look at that hit all or most of out criteria. They didn't waste our time showing us places that only had one or two requirements, but keep our list in mind, even when there was a lull in available homes. They never gave up as the months went by, and finally, in December, they found what we had been waiting for, our "perfect home."

Active Adults Realty was so helpful every step of the process, and we never felt unsure or doubtful. They were very responsive to our phone calls, always available when we were able to come down, and we always felt they were working to help us, not to just make a commission.

Active Adults Realty instilled confidence and trust in us, and we DEFINITELY will recommend friends to Active Adults Realty. It was hard finding the BEST home for our needs, but Active Adults Realty was the realtor who persevered and succeeded!!

- ryl

It took us over a year from our initial meeting with Anthony & Bill Bell. Anthony took us to see numerous homes over a two day period while he and Bill then walked us through the entire purchase process. A year later we reached out to Kathy who put us in touch with Al Willis who like Anthony and Bill spent a lot of his personal time working with us throughout the settlement process. Al is incredibly knowledgeable only exceeded by his patience and sense of humor. Al facilitated all communications with the multiple sellers' agents which allowed us to work through the selling of our home. Al set us up with a settlement attorney and banker. Al worked with Judy in the office to ensure we were timely with our responses. All in all, the settlement process went exceedingly well and we will be eternally grateful to Al and the entire team at Active Adults Realty to realize our dream to live closer to family who live in the Delmarva area.

- Paul & Gail Corcoran

Active Adults Realty made our trip to the Delaware Beaches a delight! We arrived with only one week to decide if this was the location that was right for our retirement. Active Adults Realty actually read and remembered our email wish lists, and located a development that met all of our "essentials" and 95% of our wants, all within our budget. Active Adults Realty also negotiated a very fair contract for us. Our time was efficiently used which allowed us time to explore the area more thoroughly, sample local restaurants, and visit friends and relatives. Thank you, Active Adults Realty for making this home buying experience easy and enjoyable!

- Maryanne Funk

Active Adults Realty is assisting and representing my wife and myself in buying a New Construction Beazer Home in Bethany Beach. They have done an excellent job and a team who we truly trust. A pleasure to work with!!! We have and will continue to refer them to our friends who are looking to buy in Delaware.

- LAWRENCE TANCINI

Active Adults was an enormous support in searching out our new home and being available for inspections and closing and orientation to Lewes, it’s activities and opportunities. Bill’s experience and his eye for detail resulted in a beautiful new home. The newsletter of the agency provides valuable information about the area and we hope to continue receiving it for years to come. I think we made a friend for our lives in Lewes.

- Lew G

IT WAS GREAT WORKING WITH ACTIVE ADULTS REALTY, THEY NOT ONLY GAVE US THE OPPORTUNITY TO FINE US THE PERFECT RETIREMENT HOME, PLUS A TOUR OF OUR AREA. THE MOST SINCERE GENUINE TEAM. I WILL BE SENDING MY FRIENDS TO THEM. THANKS SO MUCH, ACTIVE ADULTS REALTY.

- GREG AND RUTH KLEMM

I had the pleasure of meeting Active Adults Realty for the first time when I was searching for a retirement home in Delaware. Active Adults Realty was so terrific, they came out in the pouring rain to meet us and show us different communities that could possibly be our retirement home. They chose perfect homes for us to see and we loved all of them. Unfortunately, it was our first time in Delaware and rather difficult to make a decision on retirement in a location that you visited only once. We started the process of looking for a retirement home in Delaware and if this location is chosen Active Adults Realty is the only one we would deal with because they were that great.

- Gerry Marotta

On June 6, 2018, Active Adults Realty was so kind to show us four communities of Town and Single Homes in the Bethany Delaware Area. They were very knowledgeable of the Real Estate in that area and the plans for any future development. All our questions concerning our search for a home in that area were answered and they helped us narrow down the type of home that would meet our future needs. Their professionalism is second to none. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a home in the Bethany Area.

- LAWRENCE d TANCINI

From my first experience on the website, which was by far the most comprehensive and informative of all the others out there, I have nothing but the highest praise for Active Adults Realty.  Instead of instantly bringing me to see homes for sale - took the better part of a Sunday to give me a tour of the Southern Delaware Coast, from Lewes down to Bethany Beach, and explaining the unique characteristics of each community. They took the time to really understand my needs and talk me through the advantages and disadvantages of various areas. Soon after that initial trip, Active Adults Realty called me with what they thought was a perfect match for me... and it turned out that it was! They negotiated a great price on my dream house (which was accepted) and then referred me to an unbelievable mortgage person (Pete Green from Atlantic Bay Mortgage) who made the usually excruciating mortgage process a breeze. As someone who has bought and sold nine other homes (this one is my tenth and FINAL), I stumbled upon a winning team of professionals who make buying a home in Coastal Delaware as pleasurable as the lifestyle it promises!

- Barbara Higgins

Active Adults Realty assisted us as we began our search in the Sussex County DE area for a home in a 55+ community. In short, they helped us immensely. We visited six communities. They understood that we needed to see and assess the communities and their surrounds before focusing on the homes available there. They knew the communities very well; had many important facts and figures on each community in their head. As we drove around they pointed out the salient features of the communities and when we visited model homes they made sure we saw the relevant differences place to place. They asked us pertinent questions to ensure they understood fully what we needed and wanted. Active Adults Realty are outgoing, "people" person and we enjoyed very much the hours we spent with them. We came away from the time with a feeling that we'd certainly accomplished what we'd hoped to do that day. We recommend them highly and unreservedly.

- Dave and Angie Kalbaugh

Active Adults Realty assisted us immensely as we began our search in the Sussex County DE area for a home in a 55+ community. We visited six communities. They were a quick study and understood that we needed to see and assess the communities and their surrounds before focusing on the homes available there. They knew the communities very well and had facts and figures on each community easily at hand. We visited model homes and he made sure we saw the differences and interacted with the other agents professionally. They asked us questions to ensure they understood fully what we needed and wanted. We strongly recommend Active Adults Realty.

- Ron and Kris

We recently closed on our new retirement home here in southern Delaware. We worked with Active Adults Realty. Active Adults Realty was a pleasure to work with. They were very knowledgeable about the area, the market and the builders. They took their time to understand our wants and needs and patiently worked with us over several months and numerous showings. Through it all Active Adults Realty never exerted any pressure on us, following the philosophy that the right house would be there when we were ready. They always returned our calls and e-mails promptly and made sure we knew he was available to us 24/7. We are happy to recommend Active Adults Realty to anyone needing a realtor in the area.

- Bill and Dianne Moore

Active Adults Realty gave me all the attention and information I needed to make a new home choice. I worked with Al, who gave me information about the area, and took me through many homes based on my wish list.

- Connie Marion

We had the pleasure of meeting and touring the area with Active Adults Realty. They were very professional and a down to earth guy. They first sat down to meet with us and our brother in law and sister. After getting a feel for what we were all looking for he spent about 4 hours on a hot muggy day showing us various communities. There was no pressure and we all felt very comfortable with them and will definitely be back! They even shared names of restaurants to eat at that night.

- Steve and Vicki Megna

We recently had the pleasure of spending an afternoon with Active Adults Realty looking at active adult communities in the Bethany Beach area. Having never been to the area before we were given a thorough tour of several new developments. Active Adults Realty was a fountain of information and answered all of our questions. They were very easy to work with and fun to be with. They're low key and no pressure approach put us at ease. We look forward to working with Active Adults Realty in the future as we continue our search for a retirement home. Thanks Active Adults Realty!

- john devincenzo

Ron Mercante was wonderful helping me with finding the perfect home, and helped to eliminate the stress of buying a home while relocating from another state. Ron was responsive and worked hard to set up showings for homes in the areas I wanted and the type of homes I had specified. He was excellent and represented Active Adults well. I would definitely refer others to Ron looking for homes in my new area.

- Deborah Ingram

Good day, Working with Active Adults Realty is a pleasure. Active Adults Realty took the better part of a day to understand exactly what we were looking for within our price range. By the end of the day, we had the right community, the right home, and the right price. We look forward to working with Active Adults Realty to finalize our plans and start our new chapter in southern Delaware. Thank you, Scott Leali

- Scott Leali

My husband and I, and my brother-in-law spent an entire afternoon with Active Adults Realty looking at homes in planned communities in the Lewes Rehoboth area. Active Adults Realty was generous with their time. They were also gracious, helpful, and informative. They know the area exceptionally well, so getting from one place to the other, knowing just where to look, and who to contact made our house tour so much easier and more enjoyable. We accomplished an incredible amount in just a few hours, and now, feel like we understand and know the area so much better. While we are not yet ready to move forward, we feel assured that this is the area for our search. And we feel confident that Active Adults Realty will help us find just what we are looking forward as we move ahead. Thank you, Active Adults Realty, for a terrific house hunting experience. We love Delaware, and much of that is thanks to you.

- Valarie A Napawanetz

Active Adults Realty met me and my brother and his wife for a "5 hour tour". They went beyond the norm to show us a variety of places and was very informative, friendly and really knew how to address our "wish list". Whatever questions they could not answer readily, they were quick to get back to us with the information. I highly recommend Active Adults Realty as your first stop when looking in the DE shore area for relocation options.

- Danilo Minnick

Hi Christine,

I'm a little late but, nonetheless, Active Adults Realty was the best!  So, if you could please post the review below for me, I would greatly appreciate it!

Active Adults Realty and I made the NY connection immediately! Being a single, almost-retiree, woman and not sure about my next move, Active Adults Realty eased the fear with their patient, non-pressure approach and love for the area.  They know EVERYTHING, especially what they gathered I would like after telling them a little about myself. Active Adults Realty is remarkably candid with a helping attitude.  At the end of a long wonderful day, I told Active Adults Realty I needed time and they agreed with me! Within the week, I called him on a Friday night and said: "I'm ready to buy!". With Active Adults Realty's outstanding professional service, I'm buying the house and place I've dreamed of. Thanks, Active Adults Realty!

- Debbie Edwards

My husband and I visited two communities with Active Adults Realty.  Although we did not find the right fit at that time, we were impressed with Active Adults Realty.  They knew the neighborhoods, kept the focus on what we wanted, and showed us from soup to nuts on all of the properties.   I am confident that we would contact them again for any future interests.

The Jacksons

Catonsville, Md.

- The Jacksons

We first contacted Active Adults Realty about a year ago. We explained that we were two years away from buying a retirement home, and wanted to see what Delaware had to offer. They took us around to several retirement communities to give us an idea of the various options. Active Adults Realty said the hard part for us was to figure out what we wanted, and that once we did, the rest would be easy. They asked many questions. The obvious one was our price point, but the rest were about our lifestyle, and what we were looking for in retirement. They kept in touch, and we visited Bishops Landing and another nearby community on our own, while we were on our way home from a vacation in Ocean City. Active Adults Realty felt that Bishops Landing was a good fit for us, and explained why. We told them in November we were still a year away. They told us there was a new community called Estuary that used the same builder as Bishops Landing, and thought it could be an even better fit (our New Jersey home is on a wooded lot). They also mentioned that the prices are constantly going up, and we should consider buying now, and maybe renting it out before we retired. We came down in December, and they took us to Estuary and set up a meeting with the Beazer rep. We loved it, and asked them to try to get us a better price, which they did! It met our needs perfectly - we only had to put $15,000 down, and can pay the rest when it closes between June and August. What we liked best about Active Adults Realty was they listened to us, found a great home, and never once pressured us to buy. They would have been happy to wait a year if that's what we wanted. But by taking their advice, we got a great lot that would not have been available if we waited. When we met with the Beazer rep to go over options ( all up-grades that increased the cost), he let us pick what we wanted, but was very helpful about choosing what was needed ( a fireplace that we really wanted) and what we didn't ( expensive hard wood floor on the second floor loft instead of carpet ). That kept us in our price range. We really connected with Active Adults Realty, and always felt they were on our side. It was like having a friend who was watching out for us. A higher price would have got them a higher commission, but that was never their goal. Active Adults Realty truly wanted us to find a home that we could afford and enjoy. We look forward to running into them on the beautiful walking trails as they go to work and we enjoy retirement.

- Brian and Doretta Warnock

Met with Active Adults Realty on a fact-finding visit to Delaware just before the holidays, Active Adults Realty was very patient, asked us a lot of questions so they could get a sense of what we were looking for. They knew we were not ready to purchase at this time but was willing to spend time showing us three properties that fit our criteria. Would highly recommend Active Adults Realty, who was very knowledgeable of the area and will contact again when we make a decision.

- Cynthia Luedee

We spent 4 hours last week with Active Adults Realty, touring the Southern Delaware area. Active Adults Realty provided an exceptional service while orienting us to housing development market, visiting appropriate developments and showing us model homes that were exactly on target for our requirements. They did all this knowing that we are probably a year or more away from making a move. We were impressed with Active Adults Realty's ability and we recommend them to anyone in the housing market in Southern Delaware.

- Mickey and Pat Doloughty

Active Adults Realty is the consummate professional when it comes to selecting a Buyers Agent. We were impressed with their desire to help us find our retirement home and location without adding pressure to make a quick decision. They listened to our needs and recommended several communities that matched our lifestyle needs. We highly recommend Active Adults Realty to anyone considering purchasing a home in Sussex County.

- Roy and Jill Bordenick

Spent four hours with Active Adults Realty looking at the Delaware Beach area. Being my first time in Delaware, the time Active Adults Realty took was enlightening to get to know the area. We also took time to look at a couple of properties which was very helpful in my decision-making process in deciding to move to Southern Delaware. I would highly recommend Active Adults Realty to anyone seeking to know more about Southern Delaware and the real estate market. Roger Yergeau

- Roger Yergeau

We started looking at homes over 4 years ago with Kathy Bell. Kathy drove us to a few different areas answering every question we had. She knew we weren't ready to buy yet but that didn't stop her. She emailed us every so often just to check in. Active Adults Realty continued our search with us this past summer. I had many questions and many emails and texts which Active Adults Realty always answered. They had some great insight when it came down to our final choices. We are so happy with the home we chose. Thank you, Kathy and Active Adults Realty!!

- Rosanne and Greg Macedo

I worked with Active Adults with a rental unit as well as house sale. I found them to be thorough in the marketing process. Bill Bell was very knowledgeable and insightful with his honest advise. I was very satisfied in my dealing with Active Adults

- Don Gibson

My wife and I had never been to Delaware and the Lewes area, but after a day and a half spent with Active Adults Realty, we left feeling a bit like natives. A friend I played golf with in NJ had given us Active Adults Realty’s name after we mentioned we were thinking of looking at the Lewes area as a possible place to retire. Active Adults Realty not only answered every question we had but answered questions we hadn’t even thought to ask. Both their knowledge and enthusiasm for the area provided us with the ammunition we needed to make our final decision. Needless to say, this was a life-changing decision and not one my wife and I made lightly. Just wanted you to know how extremely pleased we were with the service Active Adults Realty provided. Sincerely, Stan & Barbara Karp

- Stan & Barbara Karp

Having Bill Bell as my REALTOR was an awesome experience...he's a superb problem-solver... avoided or negotiated all the potential pitfalls of selling my home. He was available, skillful, and generous of his time and skills. He made it happen! I could not have been more pleased with the Active Adults Realty team.

- Roz Troupin

Active adults Realty was very attentive to our questions. He asked us specific questions so he could tailor our visits to 55 plus communities that we would be interested in. He took his time, we didn’t feel rushed. He had a good relationship with the (house sales people and office personnel). He gave us specific information about the surrounding neighborhoods. It was a pleasure working with them.

- Jean and Ken Anderson

Visited last week. Spent the day with Active Adults Realty. Although we’re not quite ready to relocate now we feel fortunate to have had Active Adults Realty help us with his no pressure approach. Active Adults Realty’s extremely knowledgeable and quickly got a sense of our needs.

- Maureen Nekola

Hi Kathy,

Just a little note to thank you for the time and understanding given to Active Adults Realty to show us around the Coastal area to better prepare ourselves for our big retirement move! We can't say enough good things. Please know that our positive relationship and experience with Active Adults realty will be one of high regard and we will pass this on to others looking to buy a home. Very truly, Patrick and Jean

- Patrick and Jean Pignataro

Thank you, Active Adults Realty! My wife Catherine and I were searching for a vacant property in the south bay/ Bethany/ Ocean View area so that we can build a house in a few years and relocate from the NYC metro/ northern NJ area... It is time to go! We were paired with Active Adults Realty, who took us around the area and very diligently helped us narrow our search to the property we ended up purchasing. Active Adults Realty is genuinely concerned about understanding how people live and matching them with the best prospects that are available within a buyer's expected budget. They asked us lots of excellent questions that helped us to make our choice and provided their support through the whole process. They explained lots of things about the area and showed us a few of the outstanding amenities that support an active lifestyle. We are very grateful for the service that we received from Active Adults Realty and recommend them to anyone who is considering to buy or relocate to southern Delaware! Thanks so much Active Adults Realty!

- James & Catherine Dyson

Kathy and Bill have extensive knowledge of the senior adult real estate market in Delaware and helped us obtain a home that is ideal for us. If you are looking to buy a home, we highly recommend them. We were very pleased.

- Melanie E.

When we wanted to find an affordable home in a Delaware 55+ community, there was clearly one Realtor who we needed to contact, Active Adults Realty. Kathy and Bill figured out what we were looking for and presented an ideal property. They helped us through the entire process working late several evenings without complaint. When we wanted to add solid hardwood to the four year old home we had made our offer on, Bill knew the brand, style and color of the flooring that was already in the house and recommended a contractor who was able to complete the installation between closing and the delivery we had already scheduled with our movers. Everything worked well and the new floor in our master bedroom was ready. I can't say enough about how helpful and knowledgeable the entire Active Adults Realty team proved to be, making our move go as planned.

- Michael Munroe

We have just returned from our second visit looking at properties with Active Adults Realty and exploring the Bethany Beach and Ocean View area. Active Adults Realty is professional, helpful, asks the right questions to learn our needs, and is trusting and passionate about what he does. It has been a pleasure spending time with them and we look forward to our next visit to Delaware! Thank you, Active Adults Realty!

- Martha and Rick

As I mentioned to you on the phone, my experience today with Active Adults Realty was fabulous. All the questions that I had were answered. It was very comfortable. He showed me some areas that I fell in love with and even gave me a little history about Bethany.  Because of his expertise today, I am "now" comfortable making my decision to settle in Bethany. So, thank you for pairing me with the right agent. I will refer him to anyone asking.

- Kay

My wife and I just spent an enjoyable, informative afternoon with Active Adults Realty. We were on a fact finding mission. We have decided to look at relocating in the Lewes/ Bethany area, and decide whether to become permanent residents or "SnowBirds". Active Adults Realty had responded to my website inquiries and provided us with an afternoon educational experience that has given us a tremendous amount of information and important home buying insights. His knowledge of the market available to our requirements was exceptional. We learned a lot of important points about home buying and we now have a much more confident feeling about what options are available to us.

Our timeline is still flexible, but for sure, Active Adults Realty will be the place we call when we are ready.

- Al & Louise

Linda Chick was a pleasure to work with, she answered all our questions in a timely manner and even after the closing has offered to help us as we are not able to occupy the house for a short while; not many REALTORS would be that generous in their support. We are also grateful to Bill for his help in recommending contractors to help create our 'forever' home. Active Adults Realty has and continues to be a wealth of information and expertise.

- Anne & RIchard

Thank you Bill Bell. Imagine driving from NJ to  Delaware to check on your new home's construction, and suddenly you lose the use of your car.

All those carefully scheduled appointments with landscapers, hardscapers, decorators - all down the tube! But not quite, 'cause our REALTOR Bill leant us his car for as long as we needed it. That doesn't happen in NJ. Thank you Bill - now that's a full service realty firm.

- Joe & Eileen

My husband and I had the pleasure of meeting and working with Active Adults Realty as we explored the Delaware area searching for a possible retirement home. From the first moment, their REALTOR® demonstrated his professionalism and solid knowledge. Not only was he extremely informative, but also very intuitive. He took the time to ask important questions in order to get to know us and to learn what type of home would best fit our desires and needs. We have worked with many agents in the past in our purchases of homes. We can honestly say that none has worked as efficiently nor has made the process such an interesting and worthwhile experience as this Active Adults Realty REALTOR®. He went above and beyond by finding us a place to stay that was centrally located and afforded us the opportunity to see the sights and get a real feel for the area. He never tired of showing us some great options on possibly the hottest day of the year! Thanks. We enjoyed our house hunting day in Delaware and look forward to working with you in the future.

- Carol & Anthony Vergilis

We were moving to Delaware from Texas, so we didn't know the area that well.  Bill was willing to take us anywhere we wanted to look. We were looking at one of his listings when we noticed a new home that wasn't on his list.  He found someone to show it to us and we eventually bought it. 

Bill Bell was very patient and helpful finding us the right house. Gave us good hints and advice. Would definitely recommend contacting them when looking for a house.   He was very helpful every step of the way.  He stayed with us through closing.


 

- Virginia Cotterman

Due to the untiring and patient efforts of Active Adults Realty, I purchased my retirement town-home to be built in the community of Forest Landing in Frankfort, DE.

Bob contacted me by phone minutes after I filled out my contact information on your website. I had a very informative conversation with him about the area and also discovered that Bob is(was) a fellow New Yorker and lived very close to me and we had many "Yonkers" growing up memories in common.

Throughout my search Bob was extremely professional and informative about home pricing in the area as well as the pros and cons in choosing one area over the next.  I was truly introduced to the active adult lifestyle that the area offers.

I am looking forward to my move to Delaware and the start of a new lifestyle in a beautiful community.

Please feel free to post my comments about Bob.  He is truly an asset to your organization.

- Gwen Vasil

Hi Kathy I just wanted to send you a quick note regarding Active Adults Realty. He met us yesterday to show us a couple of areas since we are new to Delaware.  He is very easy going and we felt comfortable with him. He is quite knowledgeable about the area.  We felt no pressure from him so it made the experience pleasant!  I definitely will be contacting Bob again when we are ready to start our home buying process.

Sincerely, Lisa Zukaitis

p.s. You can put my comment on your website!

- Lisa Zukaitis

Hi Kathy, my name is Kathy Cestaro.  Myself, my husband, Bob, and our friends Marie and Carl Trovitch had the extreme pleasure of meeting with your representative Active Adults Realty this past Wednesday, Oct. 19th.

We have to say that they went above and beyond as he showed us around the area and the beautiful communities we were interested in.  His knowledge and professionalism exceeded our expectations.  He took his time with us and answered all our questions.  He also made sure we had literature for these communities so we can refresh our memories later. At days end we felt more like friends than clients. We would surely refer your company to anyone interested in your beautiful state of Delaware. 

- Kathy & Bob Cestaro

Thank you for being an exhibitor at the DE Resorts55+ Expo. I was the lucky winner of the Beach Bash for 4. I live in Independence and appreciate your company's commitment to the active adult community.  Thanks for selecting my name for the prize. 

- Marilyn Miller

My wife and I had a wonderful day with Active Adults Realty. What a great guy! I put housing hunting in the same category as buying a new car or having a root canal. BUT your agent made the process pleasurable with his genuine friendliness, calm demeanor, knowledge, as well as his professionalism. He was indefatigable in showing us properties and even seemed to be enjoying the process as much as we were even though he has probably done "the tour" a thousand times. He was extremely generous with his time and is obviously passionate about what he does. His kind and gentle manner were not just bestowed on us but with every one he interacted with during the course of the day. He is extremely perceptive in gaining insights to a couples' preferences in order to focus on what they are truly interested in so as not to waste everyone's time.

- Thomas and Gloria Tanton

Five Star all the way!! We made big mistake in choosing a local (Millsboro) realtor over 1 1/2 years ago to sell our townhouse and after a year of very little, we contacted Al Willis. He and your office staff have been great. Any question was answered quickly. Al is a very professional guy and both led us to the closing and assisted in settlement. He was easy to contact and if not available, called back soon

- Ann and Ed Elliott

We were confident we were in good hands from the initial phone calls with Kathy Sperl-Bell, the Broker, touring communities and looking at homes with Al Willis, and Judy Robinson's guidance on achieving a smooth settlement. Al was patient, listened to our wishes and provided us with the knowledge we needed to make an informed decision. The entire process was smooth and pleasant so we could be focused on the excitement of a new home and community rather than the stress of the change.

- Marianne and David Baker

Thank you Kathy and Bill for a wonderful experience. You both were very helpful in us finding our new home in Delaware. It took us almost a year to decide and you both were very patient and considerate. We are very happy!! Thank you both.

- Peter and Janet Ripley

We were extremely happy using Active Adults Realty as our real estate agent from Active Adults Realty. We highly recommend him to anyone interested in looking for a home in the Southern Delaware beach region. He was very knowledgeable about the area and the surrounding communities. He spent a lot of time showing us many houses and answering our many questions about the area. He always went the extra mile to communicate with the sellers too.

- Marty and Ellen Pedinoff

We visited Delaware looking for information about possible future relocation to the area in retirement. We thought we would sit in a real estate office and chat for a bit. Much to our surprise, Active Adults Realty met with us and took us on a personal tour of the area and showed us homes that actually fit our needs and likes, with him knowing we were not ready to purchase at this time. No pressure and so helpful, just what we needed being new to the area. We will be calling again when we return to the area.

- Joe / Gina

Hello All, All we can say is wow! What a weekend we had with Active Adults Realty. My sister and I came down to Delaware for a "look see" and were amazed with the all Active Adults Realty shared with us. This was our first trip and now thanks to Active Adults Realty we know where we would like to concentrate our search. Active Adults Realty listened to our needs and did not waste our time showing us communities that would be out of our price range. Active Adults Realty was extremely informative about the area and each community they showed us. Our first visit exceeded all our expectations. Our plan was to bring our husbands back in the fall but now we are looking to return before summer! We spent many hours in a car with a stranger and felt totally comfortable..Active Adults Realty did not feel like a stranger at all. We even had a few laughs. Thanks for the memories Active Adults Realty :) Hope to see you soon!

- Joanne Schultz/Lively &Nancy McNichol

My sister Joanne & I had the pleasure of meeting Active Adults Realty in early April 2017 and just had to reach out to praise him for the great job he did showing us all around Delaware. They went above and beyond our expectations even knowing that our possible move to Delaware is not for 3-4 years. They knew there was no sale happening any time soon but still spent several hours over 2 days with us. Active Adults Realty listened to our wish list and showed us all of our options and opened our eyes to possibilities we did not even think of. They were friendly , professional, knowledgeable and just an all around nice guy. We certainly won the Realtor lottery when they got assigned to us, now if we could only win the NYS lottery we would be packing our bags for the beaches of Delaware sooner rather than later. You can be sure we will be calling Active Adults Realty directly when the time comes to relocate. We are already making plans to come back with our husbands for Phase II of this process. Many, many thanks Active Adults Realty !!!

- Nancy McNichol and Joanne Schultz

Had a great experience with Kathy and Active Adults Realty who helped us find our home near Bethany Beach. Their REALTOR® took us to several communities and was able to locate one that met our needs and was there for us through the closing. Highly recommend Active Adults Realty.

- Donna Strano

Hello Kathy, I wanted to let you know how much I appreciated the time given to me by Active Adults Realty during my initial trip to the Delaware area on May 10, 2017. Active Adults Realty was most generous to have met my sisters, brother-in-law and me at our hotel. The three hours we spent riding around the area with Active Adults Realty were very informative, and gave us an introduction to all of Delaware’s attributes and benefits for retirees. Their knowledge of the various developments was top notch; they answered all my questions and those I didn’t think to ask. My family and I were impressed that he took so much time and energy to meet with total strangers and treat us with such respect. This was just the first step in my journey towards possibly relocating to Delaware.  Donna Anderson

- Donna Anderson

We just arrived back in NJ before the storm ... (didn't have internet access in Delaware) to thank you Bill for your help and at the closing yesterday. It meant a lot to us to have you there for support.

- Kathy & Henry Lopez

We wanted to add a testimonial about our experience with Active Adults, this past week. We arrived on Thursday mid-morning, and they met with us and took us around the area and introduced us to communities that were aligned with the interests we had previously conveyed. This was a great experience, and we now have a comprehensive feel for the communities, the pro's and con's, and places that we are now seriously considering as a retirement community in the coming year. After taking us around, they gave us time to explore on our own, and then circled back and met with us again at a community that interested us the most. Active Adults Realty was not pushy, and they truly represented us, the potential buyer. It was a great way to understand the options, and to learn about the area. Thank you, Active Adults Realty, for a very worthwhile experience.

- Rick and Teresa Nagle

Active Adults Realty was the perfect tour guide, showing me several areas of coastal Delaware. Knowing that I wasn't quite ready to buy, he provided great information without pushing a sale. When I am ready to relocate, I will definitely be contacting you.

- Roseann Santini

We are very excited about our new home in Lewes, and it would not have happened without the exceptional help of Kathy and Bill. They are professional, candid, and know their stuff! It was a big decision to make the purchase decision that we made, but with the exceptional counsel that we received, we had total and absolute confidence that we were making the right decision. Frankly, we have high standards, and are often disappointed these days by the level of professional service we encounter, but Kathy and Bill met and surpassed our expectations. We would recommend without reservation.

- Stephen and Carolyn Seeling

We had been in love with Lewes for years and almost bought a house last year that we thought would be our forever home. Bill had carefully evaluated the property and we had already moved in (in our heads). The deal fell through because of a prior contract and we were so disappointed, feeling like we would never find another home that fit our needs, which included an in-law apartment. But after searching this year, we found an even better home that is a great fit. We settled last week, and are now working with contractors to make it "just right". Even though we are part-time home dwellers until Bruce's retirement next year, Bill has given us assistance with contractors who are getting the house ready for us. What can we say about Bill and Kathy? They are great realtors, good will ambassadors for the community, and now our friends. Who could ask for more?

- Carol James and Bruce Morton

Kathy and Bill Bell couldn't have been nicer throughout the buying process! And having Bill's construction knowledge really helped us during the house tour and inspection phases of settlement. Judy at their office kept us fully informed of all necessary steps that required our attention. They were all wonderful!

- Becky and Gary

We were delighted with the help we received from Kathy and Bill in finding our new home. After exploring various realtors' sites we were drawn to theirs, which offered the expertise we were seeking. We also appreciated the assistance of Judy Robinson, a great office liaison. With Kathy's knowledge and guidance we were able to purchase a great home. Bill Bell's assistance in explaining the mechanics of our new home and tending to minor details was invaluable. We will always be grateful for their help and give them the highest recommendation.

- Ernest and Joan

Bill, Judy and Kathy handled all of the details of the sale of my house in my absence. I could not have put the sale the house with more detail-oriented and capable people. It has been a real pleasure to deal with Bill and his team. Jane Sheridan

JUST received the beautiful arrangement of flowers from you thoughtful folks. What a surprise. Am very grateful again for all you have done for me on a personal level. Tons of success.

- Jane Sheridan

Bill Bell did a great job in getting a long list of "repair" items done that had to be completed prior to closing and we were out of state. Both Bill and Kathy worked diligently to get the house sold.

- Norm Whiteley

Bill was very professional and far exceeded our expectations. He was instrumental in making a potentially difficult transition an easy one. We have already recommended him to all our friends who a considering relocating to Delaware.

- Glennis Kaplansky

Bill was very helpful in our move from Maryland to Delaware. He is knowledgeable about the areas we were interested in, available and responsive to our needs. His knowledge of construction was helpful during the walk thrus of our new home during the various phases of construction. We are giving his name to friend and would definitely recommend him.

- Doug and Trudie Bushey

Thank you so much for taking the time in showing us the possibilities of living in Sussex County, Delaware. Your patience and overall knowledge of the area really gave us an insight as to what it will take to make a decision in moving near a beach town.
Your dedication to your job and understanding of the other party's desires and interest makes working with you a pleasure. I hope we'll be able to do business with you one day in the future.

Thanks again!

- Henry & Beth

Excellent support in acquiring our new home. The process went very efficiently.

- Norm and Doris Whiteley

We are totally and completely satisfied with the job Kathy and Bill did for us. They not only sold one house, they sold two of our homes. Their knowledge of the real estate business and their professionalism is surpassed by none. They completely kept us "in the loop" and walked us right thru to the settlement table (2 times) and closures. Now, Bill is giving us his professional guidance while we are building a new house.

- Don and Ronnie Pyne

Finding Bill Bell was a happy accident, as I originally thought I was interested in buying into an adult community. After deciding this was not right for me at this time, I was pleased to find out that Bill would be my realtor for single homes in the Wilmington area. He was wonderful through the whole process, especially during a difficult settlement and aftermath. He always made me feel comfortable in calling him for assistance and I cannot speak highly enough of his professional ethics, warmth, and energy. I have yet to meet his wife, Kathy, but I do look forward to it. These two realtors are a real find in Delaware!

- Carol Ruth Seiken

We were looking for our retirement home and planning to move from New Jersey. Ours plan for our future was to move to to either Eastern Pennsylvania or Delaware. One weekend took us to Delaware. From the internet and with Kathy's guidance, we had picked some locations to visit. Bill was the lucky one to drive us from one end of the State to the other, to see homes. Just as the weekend was to end and we were to leave to go back to NJ, Bill suggested that we take a look at Heritage Creek in Milton, DE. From the moment we entered Heritage Creek we felt like we were home. We closed on our home 1/31/14. Bill was with us every step of the way and shared his knowledge answering our many , many questions within moments of sending an email or returning a call. It was great working with Kathy and Bill at Active Adults Realty.

- Jim and Sherry Murphy

I was searching on the web for a town house or condo in the Lewes area to plan for a retirement location for the spring and summer months, we hope to be in Florida during the cold winters. I didn't know Bill or anything about Active Adult Realty but he contacted me and was ready to show us around, we were really just going to start the "looking" process but when we finally met him and he lined up several homes for us to visit, we found one sooner than I expected. Kathy and Judy were both very helpful to us with the mound of papers and documents needed to purchase our new place. Thanks for your patience and helpfulness during the entire process. I would recommend their team to help find your ideal home.

- Anthony and Bonnie

Thank you so much for all the extra little touches that other real estate brokers and companies do not provide. I appreciate your exceptional professionalism combined with kindness and understanding (and Bill's, too). Why anyone would go to anyone else when looking for a place in Southern Delaware or contemplating selling their place is beyond me. You also have the best office administrator (Judy) who knows the business and continues to keep me informed during this last step in the process. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

- Fran Schonfeld Ferrara

We had been looking for retirement homes for the past three years. We looked extensively for homes in the state of New Jersey and in North Carolina. We never felt that any of these properties would work for us. I read an article in AARP magazine about Lewes Delaware being a great place to retire. Pat was working in a restaurant in Brick, NJ and ran into a man from the Lewes area who also stated that Lewes was a great place to live. Pat was online searching for homes in the Lewes area when this beautiful face appeared on the screen and it was Kathy Sperl-Bell. We immediately called her and she wasted no time in getting properties organized for us to view. We agreed on a weekend in September to meet her in the Active Adult Community Office. She had a program all set up for us to view on potential properties. She listened carefully to all the requirements we wanted for our home. We had no intention at that time to buy a home, we were only getting a feel for what the market was like in the Lewes area. After looking at a few homes, Kathy suggested we look at homes in Nassau Grove. She found a home that met mostly all our specifications. We not only bought our home that weekend, we made a friend for life and that is Kathy. She never pressured us into buying our home. We fell in love with our home and the neighborhood and within twenty four hours we were signing the contract to purchase our home. We woke up the next morning and said to each other did we really buy a house? We laughed because we hadn't sold our home in New Jersey but ultimately knew we had made the correct choice in buying in Lewes. To make a long story short, we sold our home in NJ in six days without a realtor. One month later we sold our commercial business building and in January we moved to Nassau Grove. We cannot say enough about Kathy and of course her husband Bill. He was instrumental in getting our home painted before our official move. He did some beautiful trim work in our morning room and breakfast/living room area. These two people will always be very special to us. We not only found a new home we found friends for life. I would recommend this duo to all our friends and relatives who are looking to live or retire in Delaware. We can never express into words just how valuable they were to us in making our move a smooth one. Thank you Kathy and Bill!!

- Elizabeth and Patrick Kerwin

Judy, Kathy and the rest of the team - Thanks for all your help and assistance and patience. We got a contract on our house in just 9 days!

You have been wonderful. Happy Holidays.

- Geoff & Chickie Tobias

When my husband and I made the decision to relocate to the Lewes, DE area when we retired, it was based on having vacationed in the area for many years.  However, we knew we would need help in finding the right spot.  Kathy and team were so helpful to us in that respect.  She listened to what we wanted, identified many different alternatives to look at based on her deep experience and knowledge of the area and had great patience as we went through the decision process.  In addition, since we sold our former house sooner than expected, she found us a rental house for the interim period while we waited for our new house to be built.  We would have had great difficulty doing that ourselves in the short time frame we had. Our questions were answered quickly and we got lots of supporting information about the buying process and the area from Kathy and her team which was so helpful in making our move to the area.  The whole experience was positive and smooth from the beginning.  We are grateful and happily moved into our new home in a develpment we already love.  

Thanks, Kathy, Bill and Judy.

- Lorraine & Dave

We hadn't purchased a house in thirty years. We simply wanted someone to look out for our interests. What we got was a team who proved invaluable at every step of the home buying process. Bill was there with sound reasoning for the selection of up-grades. He was there for every walk thru checking the quality of workmanship and insuring we were satisfied. Again at closing it just wasn't us going over the paperwork. So if you would feel better with someone looking out for you I can tell you, Bill and Kathy have your back.

- Chuck and Mary Lownie

Kathy, Bill & Judy - You did a great job finding a home and a rental for us. And, we will recommend your company to friends.

- Barb & Larry Hutson

I recently relocated from NJ to DE and while moving is a very emotional, physical, stressful experience, the team of Active Adults Realty actually made it an enjoyable one. Bill Bell, my realtor, found my new home for me and it is above and beyond anything I could have imagined. Bill, Kathy and Judy were informed, involved, competent and compassionate. I was impressed with them and their circle of contacts during the settlement process. Thank you to everyone at Active Adults Realty. I will be recommending you to all my friends when they decide to move here after seeing my beautiful new home and lifestyle in Lower Slower Delaware.

- Elizabeth Curtis

Thanks you for all you've done for us. Peter and I had a very successful and happy trip to Lewes - lots of special people in our life to make our big dream just fall into place.

A friend of mine makes jewelry, I hope you like what I picked for you.

- Linda and Peter Faerber

Kathy and Bill were excellent. This was land purchased with a trailer on it. They had the trailer removed (found someone who took it and used it) then with Bill as my contractor had a Berracah House built. Both Kathy and Bill bent over backwards making sure everything went well. I came down to the house before the electric was installed. Bill brought a generator in case I needed it. Kathy and Bill even brought me lunch one day when I was working there. I feel that I made 2 new friends. I consider myself so lucky to have dealt with these 2 great people.

- Kathy from PA

We're glad we found you and most of all THANKS! Looking forward to your Annual Client Party.

- Steve & JoAnn Catramados

You ... and we ... are lucky to have Judy as the Gal Friday for all our little questions, etc. She is a gem! Thank you for the great job you have done for us. We love our new home and neighborhood. It is a perfect fit for us. See you soon.

- Beth & Bob Quackenbush

Wow, how to begin to describe Kathy Sperl-Bell as a real estate agent. Let's see, she cares about her clients, she will do whatever is necessary to support her clients, she will answer questions morning, noon and night, she knows the area, she knows the builders, she understands familial relationships with regards to the buying process, she takes time to understand her client's needs, she will offer good advice as needed and she's married to this dude named Bill who, when necessary, brings a builder's technical perspective to the table in a way I've never encountered before - they are a great team! In addition, Kathy is just an all around sweetheart. So it is without hesitation that my wife and I recommend Kathy Sperl-Bell as THE real estate professional to work with in Sussex County, DE. 

- Phil & Ellen Kane

It is with heartfelt respect for and appreciation to you both that we write to thank you for all you did to sell our Milton home. From the moment we listed with you until the day of settlement you provided excellent customer service--which included superior knowledge of the market, an understanding and sensitivity to our personal situation, and most importantly to us, ALWAYS answering our calls and emails in a timely and helpful manner. 

When presented with a seemingly insurmountable series of circumstances (a failed septic two weeks before settlement, garage variance discovered in preparation for settlement, and sewer installation that took 8 plus months) you calmly and rationally worked to help us problem solve. Other agents might have turned their back on our situation, but your determined nature and willingness to go the extra mile made all the difference in moving the deal forward. In addition, you are both incredibly compassionate people and we will not forget everything you did for us. 

As a team, you have the other agents in the region beat. Kathy’s knowledge of the market and Bill’s skills as a contractor were invaluable navigating our complicated sale and settlement. In your office, Judy competently handled the many transfer of documents seamlessly and efficiently.   We highly, highly recommend your services and would happily serve as a reference to anyone who might need one.

- Melinda & Tom Huff

Kathy,

Thank you so much for being at Bridgeville yesterday and for helping me select choices.  Every time I switch on the fireplace, I will think of you and your expertise in negotiating. Your suggestions were well taken and you helped me out tremendously.  I am so excited to start a new beginning in Milton.  You have been a great support to me.  Have a wonderful holiday  and I'm sure that we will talk soon.

- Maggie Dinsmore

We recently listed and sold our home through Active Adults Realty.  Both Kathy and Bill Bell did everything they could to create a positive outcome by providing staging services, assistance with repairs when needed and being responsive to our needs.   Their support staff was most helpful as well. They are very knowledgable of the market and aware of what works and doesn't.   We wish them every success as they continue to assist people looking to buy or sell a home in Sussex County.  

- Benedette & Jeff Cooper

Pat and I feel lucky to have stumbled upon you, not only for the purchase of our new house here in Lewes, but for putting us in touch with another great realtor in Jersey.

Thank you for all your help during our 4-month adventure. both you and Judy were responsive and pleasant.

- Anne French

Dear Kathy and Bill,

Congratulations to you both on the formation of your very own brokerage! How exciting and also rewarding for all your hand work. We are thrilled for you both. My husband and I will be contacting you in another year to help us find just the right place for us in Coastal Delaware. We appreciate the newsletter that you send us via email.

December 18, 2011

- Barbara and Sonny

Thank you for making our move to Milton so uneventful. It has been an easy transition. We love the house and hope to see you soon!

- Dick & Nancy Trask

Do you want a great Realtor? Contact Kathy Sperl-Bell, she is fantastic and also her husband Bill.  I listed my property with her and she was right on it.  She told me how to show my home .  I did all she suggested and within 6 months, my property was sold.  She and her husband Bill are Fantastic to work with.  I not only wanted to sell my property, but I needed to buy another property and she was Right there for Me.  We looked at several properties and I decided on one and she handled all for me.  All I can say is that Kathy is there from the beginning till the end and she fights for her clients.  She did for me , I sold my property, and now am in a wonderful development that she had shown me and I am so Happy.  I would recommend the Kathy - Bill Team to anyone, they have one thing in mind and that is their Client.  This Team wants to make their Client Happy and they know how to do it.

- Mary Ann Wollter

After using a realtor who just sent us multiple listings I found the baby boomer specialist on the internet. We met with Kathy, giving her all the pertinent details of what we were looking for. She showed us many homes in the area until we fell in love with our house. Kathy helped us through the entire process and was always there by our side. After we moved in Bill did a beautiful job painting our house and hanging lights and fans. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts to you both. You helped make our transition very easy. Paula and Frank Costanzo Heritage Creek Milton, DE

- Paula and Frank Costanzo

Dear Kathy and Bill,

Just wanted to let you know how much you are appreciated. Dinner last night was absolutely wonderful, thank you.

A huge thanks for all that you've done throughout the years in helping to make our dream home a reality. You worked above and beyond for us and we intend to sing your praises to anyone who will listen.

Thanks again for everything.

 

- Donna and David Vaurio
Kathy helped us purchase our retirement home near the beaches in Delaware in 2008.  After finding a description of the house on the Internet, we searched for local real estate agents and left a message on Kathy's phone.  She called within an hour to discuss our interest and needs.  Within a day or two, Kathy went to the property, shot many interior and exterior photos and reported on the condition of the home and its landscaping.  She also checked other listings for similar properties for us to see.  We soon traveled to Delaware and met Kathy. With all of the information Kathy had provided us, we were able to make a quick decision and write a contract on our dream home.  Kathy made all the arrangements for the inspection and several other contingencies, and the closing could not have gone more smoothly.  Kathy has since been a great help to us in finding contractors to do minor repairs and additional landscaping.  Thanks to Kathy, we are looking forward to spending many enjoyable years in our new home.
- Jean and Mike Bowers
With all the chaos of a quick settlement and then the travel immediately after, not sure if I properly thanked you. You did an amazing job getting us easily through the purchase of Grenache Court. Your gift of the (address) stamp was brilliant and I stamp all sorts of crazy things just to use it. We will derive endless pleasure from our Lewes book, as with each visit to the house and reading it, we learn some great new facts about our future new home. Sorry we were too rushed to enjoy a dinner with you and Bill the day of settlement but look forward to some good times when the holidays are over and we are able to be down there more often. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and a very blessed and joyous Christmas. Thanks again.
- Celia and Barry Auchenbach
"My initial contact with Kathy Sperl-Bell was via E-mail and phone from Florida as I planned a house hunting trip to the Lewes - Milton area in August of 2005. With her assistance, we found a home and neighborhood that fit the very particular needs of a recently retired couple and an aging senior citizen. Kathy immediately impressed me with her grasp of the unique style, age and design of a home that would satisfy the contour of our needs while at the same time meeting our budget. Her knowledge of the market and its trends together with her vast experience and credentials were invaluable as were her guidance, patience and diligence. We are most grateful for our experience with Kathy during the home search as well as before and after the purchase since it was pleasant and professional at every turn. The entire process was certainly complicated by the fact that we were more than a thousand miles away and yet we hardly noticed. Nearly a year has passed since my initial contact and we are very happy in our new home. Kathy Sperl-Bell has left quite an impression in our minds and a very large footprint upon the real estate market of Sussex County Delaware."
- Rick and Maureen Dailey
"What makes Kathy and Bill special is they listen to my wishes. They respond to my requirements. They communicate with me and know what I want. And they deliver."
- Bill & Diana Young

Add A Testimonial

Would you like to add a testimonial about your great experience? Use this fast and easy form to send us your comments and feedback.